Autism and expectations

Year one post-autism-diagnosis was a year of changing how I see myself. It was a year of learning to accept my changeable limits and deciding to work with my autism instead of against it.

So far, year two is about other people. Those in my immediate circle, family and friends, have begun to feel comfortable asking me questions, they’ve mentioned memories I’ve long-forgotten and been able to apply correct motives to confusing actions.

And now I’m moving on again, to interactions with other autistic people, and I’m finding a whole new view; how I come across to those who intrinsically understand how I’m seeing things.

Growing up I would have been described as prickly, temperamental, angry, unpredictable, enigmatic, anxious, cold, detached, blunt.

For the first time I have been described by a new friend as gentle, soothing, certain, brave, clear, powerful, even-handed.

These are new angles for me, new ways…

View original post 284 more words

